noobwestcoast.blogg.se

Upgrade from sql 2008 express to sql 2012 express
Upgrade from sql 2008 express to sql 2012 express









  1. UPGRADE FROM SQL 2008 EXPRESS TO SQL 2012 EXPRESS HOW TO
  2. UPGRADE FROM SQL 2008 EXPRESS TO SQL 2012 EXPRESS INSTALL
  3. UPGRADE FROM SQL 2008 EXPRESS TO SQL 2012 EXPRESS FREE

UPGRADE FROM SQL 2008 EXPRESS TO SQL 2012 EXPRESS INSTALL

SQL 2008 Express limit is 4GB (if you install the full-blown version there will be no practical limit)Your plan of copy the MDF / LDF and Attach sounds fine (make sure that SQL Service on the current machine is STOPPED before you copy, or that you DETACH the databases before you copy - but then you will have to re-ATTACH them afterwards).If the database needs to be online and stopping/detach+re-attach would be a problem, then restoring the last full Backup file instead would be fine for a test on Machine-B.I imagine (but I don't know) that there is an UPGRADE route from MSDE to SQL2008 Express. " I should upgrade so the new d/b would be a 10 GB limit"Ah, OK, I understand now. Is SQL Server Management Studio Express capable of doing the Attach operation? I don't have it on this computer but it is on the machine that has the database.Thank you again for all help.

upgrade from sql 2008 express to sql 2012 express

ldf to that machine and "attach"? Then when it's all running well and we're happy, then do the same on the real machine (after uninstalling MSDE)?I'm going to be working on this tomorrow so I'm hoping to have a "plan" in place. ldf files from MSDE to a jump drive, install SQL 2008 on a different machine, copy the. We always do major version changes by migrating to a new machine as there is no chance of the new installation fouling up the existing one - and we can test on the new machine and then when happy take a fresh copy and "go live" on the new machine. Originally posted by KristenIf you install SQL 2008 (n the same machine, or on a new machine) you can just restore (or ATTACH) a SQL 2000 database.I don't know if it is easy to install SQL 2008 alongside SQL 2000 on the same machine. I probably should have kept my mouth shut quote: I mentioned that to my boss and that's when he said to make the move. In my previous post the responder said I should upgrade so the new d/b would be a 10 GB limit. SQL 2000) then I think your current limit is 2GB, not 10GB ? " I should upgrade all my database to R2 because of the 10 GB limit"If you have MSDE (i.e.

upgrade from sql 2008 express to sql 2012 express

SQL 2000) then I think your current limit is 2GB, not 10GB ?If you install SQL 2008 (n the same machine, or on a new machine) you can just restore (or ATTACH) a SQL 2000 database.I don't know if it is easy to install SQL 2008 alongside SQL 2000 on the same machine. Any help is appreciated and, if possible, please explain like I'm 4 years old Thank you. I just really want it to go as smoothly as possible. As you can see I don't really know much about this but have no choice in being the one that has to do the job. I'm not sure if that matters.I'm sorry it's such a noob question.

UPGRADE FROM SQL 2008 EXPRESS TO SQL 2012 EXPRESS FREE

I'm using the free Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio. All of this is greek to me (not a d/b guy but I've been told to do it).Can I install 2008 R2 on the same machine with MSDE, use a different InstanceName, and then copy or move the existing database to 2008 R2? I've seen in some examples Attach/Detach. So my bosses said if we are switching databases we should use a new InstanceName. We are thinking about using a different InstanceName because "DB2000" shows up in a lot of examples out there. If I install 2008 R2, using a different InstanceName, can I create the same database name? Our current InstanceName is "DB2000".

UPGRADE FROM SQL 2008 EXPRESS TO SQL 2012 EXPRESS HOW TO

I have a question on exactly how to do that.

upgrade from sql 2008 express to sql 2012 express

In a recent post I made here it was suggested I should upgrade all my database to R2 because of the 10 GB limit. We've got lots of great SQL ServerĮxperts to answer whatever question you can come up with.











Upgrade from sql 2008 express to sql 2012 express